The Fiirm guide · DSCR

DSCR Loan After a Foreclosure, Deed-in-Lieu or Short Sale: The Three-Year Clock

A completed foreclosure, a deed-in-lieu or a short sale carries a three-year waiting period on our DSCR program. All three are treated identically, and the clock runs from the date the event finished, not the date you stopped paying. A recorded notice of default or pre-foreclosure sale carries its own 36-month look-back even if nothing was ever lost, and a written explanation is required for a full year after the waiting period has run out.

3 yearsForeclosure waiting period
3 yearsShort sale or deed-in-lieu
36 monthsNotice of default or charge-off
4 yearsExplanation letter window
660Minimum FICO, all guarantors
DSCRFocus
17 minRead
GeneralContext
September 1, 2026Updated

A completed foreclosure, a deed-in-lieu or a short sale puts three years between you and a DSCR loan on a 1-4 unit rental. All three carry the same three years, and the clock runs from the date the event finished — not the date you stopped paying, not the date the notice was filed, and not the date the tradeline dropped off your credit report.

That is the whole answer. The rest of this page is the part that actually decides files: which date counts as the finish date, what happens when the foreclosure was wrapped inside a bankruptcy, what the program still requires for a full year after your waiting period has run out, and what a deficiency judgment or charged-off second does to a loan you would otherwise qualify for.

The waiting periods, exactly as written

Everything on this subject lives in one short block of the DSCR guideline called Significant Derogatory Credit. It is four bullets long. It contains no exception language, no compensating-factor path, and no reduced-period option.

Written out as a table:

EventPeriodMeasured from
Foreclosure3 yearsCompletion date
Deed-in-lieu of foreclosure3 yearsCompletion / sale / settlement date
Short sale3 yearsCompletion / sale / settlement date
Notice of default36 monthsNot stated in the guideline
Pre-foreclosure sale36 monthsNot stated in the guideline
Charge-off36 monthsNot stated in the guideline

Two things to take from that table before anything else.

The three big events are not graded against each other. Borrowers usually arrive expecting a deed-in-lieu or a negotiated short sale to be treated as the gentler outcome — you cooperated, you handed back the keys, you sold the house rather than letting it go to sale. The guideline does not reward that. Foreclosure, deed-in-lieu and short sale all sit at three years. The only difference between the two bullets is the wording of the measuring date, and that difference exists because the three events finish in different ways, not because one is penalised harder than the other.

The period is stated flat, with no dial. There is no version of this where a 740 score, 40% down, or a 1.60 DSCR buys a shorter wait. The guideline does allow, elsewhere, that "single loan variances to program eligibility may be acceptable when strong compensating factors exist to offset the risk" — but that is a case-by-case exception on a specific file, not a published shorter waiting period. Do not plan around it.

At a glance
36
36
36
48

Months. The fourth bar is not a waiting period — it is the window in which a written explanation is required, and it runs a year longer than the waiting periods do.

The date the clock starts, and the date people use instead

The guideline says "completion date" for a foreclosure and "completion / sale / settlement date" for a short sale or deed-in-lieu. It does not define those terms further, and it does not name a document that establishes them.

What it plainly is not:

  • The date you stopped paying. Irrelevant to this test.
  • The date the notice of default was recorded. That date matters, but for the separate 36-month notice-of-default bullet, not for the foreclosure bullet.
  • The date the deficiency was settled, or the date the tradeline stopped reporting. Also not the finish date.

For a short sale the settlement date is usually unambiguous — it is the closing. For a deed-in-lieu it is the date the deed transferred. For a foreclosure the completion date is whenever the process actually finished in your state, and that is where the gap opens up.

The guideline names no exhibit for proving the date. If your credit report shows a clean, unambiguous completion date, that may be the end of it. If it does not — and after a contested or bankruptcy-adjacent foreclosure it frequently does not — expect the file to need the recorded instrument or the settlement statement that fixes the date. Treat that as a file-level request rather than a published requirement, because the guideline does not publish it.

The events that never finished

The third bullet is the one nobody reads until it costs them a file: no Notice of Default, no Pre-Foreclosure Sale, and no charge-off within 36 months.

This is a separate test from the foreclosure test, and it catches people who believe they have nothing to disclose because nothing was lost. If a notice of default was recorded and you then reinstated the loan, cured the arrears, sold the property yourself at full price, or refinanced out of the problem — the notice still happened, and it still carries a 36-month look-back. The same is true of a pre-foreclosure sale that was listed and marketed as such.

The guideline does not limit these to the subject property, and it does not limit them to your primary residence. It states the events without qualification.

A forbearance or a loan modification is handled by different provisions again, with their own triggers and a dated cutoff — that is covered in [DSCR loans after a mortgage forbearance](/blog/dscr-loan-after-a-mortgage-forbearance), and this page does not repeat it.

The guideline states two different charge-off tests, and does not reconcile them

Under general Eligibility, the guideline says a borrower "must not have charge offs within the last 12 months ≥ $5000." Under Significant Derogatory Credit, it says "must not have a Notice of Default, or Pre-Foreclosure Sale, or charge off- 36 months (3 years)."

Those are two different windows. One carries a dollar threshold and one does not. Both are in V28, and the version-control log does not date either bullet in a way that establishes which is newer, so there is no clean "the later one wins" answer available from the document.

Until underwriting says otherwise on your specific file, assume the more restrictive reading applies: a charge-off inside 36 months is a problem regardless of size. Separately — and this part is not in conflict — any charged-off account still has to be satisfied or brought current prior to or at closing.

When the foreclosure was included in a bankruptcy

This is the most common real-world version of the question, and the guideline does not answer it.

Here is what the document actually contains. Under Housing History, it addresses bankruptcy: chapters 7 and 11 within the past 36 months from the date of discharge or dismissal, and chapter 13 within 36 months from the date of discharge or 36 months from the date of dismissal. The chapter-by-chapter detail belongs to [DSCR loans after a bankruptcy](/blog/dscr-loan-after-bankruptcy-waiting-period) and is not re-derived here. Under Significant Derogatory Credit, separately, it addresses foreclosure at three years from completion.

What the guideline does not contain is any provision linking the two. There is no bullet saying the discharge date governs a foreclosure that was included in the bankruptcy. There is no bullet saying the foreclosure test is waived, shortened, or absorbed when the mortgage debt was discharged. There is no bullet saying the two clocks may run concurrently by rule. The document is silent on the interaction, and anyone who tells you the discharge date automatically controls is telling you something the guideline does not say.

What follows from the text is narrower, and it is arithmetic rather than a rule: both tests are three-year tests, both stand on their own terms, and a file has to clear both. So the date you are genuinely waiting on is the later of the two.

In practice that is very often the foreclosure. Discharge extinguishes your personal liability on the debt; it does not move title. It is routine for a mortgage to be discharged in a chapter 7 and for the property to sit in your name for another year or two while the lender works through the foreclosure. If your discharge was in 2022 and the trustee's sale completed in 2024, the operative date is 2024 — not because a rule says foreclosure trumps bankruptcy, but because 2024 is later and the foreclosure bullet has to clear on its own.

The documentation the guideline actually names

Short list. It is shorter than most borrowers expect, and one item on it runs longer than the waiting period.

Four years, against a three-year waiting period. So there is a full year in which you are eligible on timing and still owe a written explanation of what happened. A borrower whose foreclosure completed 42 months ago clears the wait comfortably and still needs the letter. Treat it as a normal file item, not a sign that something has gone wrong.

The other named items:

  • Tri-merged credit reports on all individual guarantors, principals or controlling parties holding 25% or more of the borrowing entity, directly or indirectly. The guideline reserves the right to require a report on individuals holding less than 25% based on a review of the entity structure.
  • Credit report age. The Age of Documents section says 120 days from the note date. The Eligibility section says personal credit reports must be dated within 120 days of completing Final Underwriting. Both are in V28, and they anchor to slightly different events; the practical effect is the same 120-day shelf life, but on a file that sits between underwriting and closing, ask which anchor is being applied rather than assuming.
  • Evidence that anything unpaid is resolved, covered in the next section.

The guideline does not list a trustee's deed, a sheriff's deed, a short-sale settlement statement or a deed-in-lieu agreement as required exhibits. That does not mean they will never be asked for — it means they are not published requirements, and you should not assume the absence of one from your file is what is holding the loan up.

What the event left behind

The waiting period is about timing. The money is a separate set of rules, and this is where post-foreclosure files most often break.

  • Judgments. No material unpaid judgments or collections. Judgments of $5,000 or more are treated as material, unless the debt is unenforceable under a state statute of limitations.
  • Tax liens. No outstanding tax liens, personal or property related, without an established payment plan and at least six months of payment history — otherwise they are paid at closing. A tax lien that is unenforceable due to the statute of limitations, and/or where the outstanding amount is under $2,000, is not required to be paid at closing.
  • Everything unpaid clears by closing. Tax liens, judgments, charge-offs and past-due accounts must be satisfied or brought current prior to or at closing.

And then the provision that changes the arithmetic of the whole transaction:

Whether a deficiency judgment survives at all after a foreclosure, short sale or deed-in-lieu is a question of state law and of what you signed — some states restrict deficiency claims, and short sales and deeds-in-lieu are frequently negotiated with a release. That is a question for your attorney, not for a lender. What we can tell you is what the guideline does with the judgment if one exists and is unpaid.

The requirements that do not care about your foreclosure

Clearing three years puts you back in the pool. It does not by itself put you in the program. These apply to everyone, and several of them land awkwardly on someone who has recently been through a foreclosure.

RequirementWhat it says
Minimum FICO660 for all guarantors. Where there is one guarantor, the middle score sets rate and LTV; with multiple, the lowest middle score sets rate and LTV and every other guarantor must still hit 660.
Credit depthCannot have only one credit score, or less than 24 months of credit history.
Trade linesAt least one trade line must be active. Each borrower and guarantor must meet the trade line minimums. Authorized user accounts are not acceptable. Non-traditional credit is not acceptable.
Housing history1x30x12 across all mortgages disclosed on the credit report.
UnderwritingManual underwrite is required.

The FICO floor is usually the binding constraint, not the waiting period. A foreclosure that completed three years ago has stopped counting as an event and has not stopped affecting the score, and 660 is the floor for every guarantor on the file, not an average and not a target.

Two more interactions worth knowing about, both of which catch borrowers whose foreclosed property was their home:

Investor experience. Borrowers who do not meet the experienced-investor definition are financeable, but on tighter terms: minimum DSCR of 1.0, maximum LTV 75%, maximum loan of $1,000,000, no blanket mortgages, and they must currently own a primary residence for at least one year. The guideline also states that first-time homebuyers are not eligible, defining a first-time homebuyer as a borrower who has not owned a residential property at any time during the prior three years.

Read those two definitions together against a borrower whose only real estate was the house they lost and who has rented ever since. Three years after completion, they clear the derogatory waiting period — and they are simultaneously at risk of meeting the guideline's first-time homebuyer definition, and of failing the requirement to currently own a primary residence. Nothing in the guideline resolves that as a special case. If this is your situation, the ownership history matters as much as the waiting period, and it is worth checking before you order anything.

Renting where you live is a listed occupancy red flag. Under Loan Purpose, the guideline lists common occupancy red flags, and among them: borrowers currently living rent free or renting their primary residence. That is a red flag prompting scrutiny of whether the loan is genuinely for business purposes — not an ineligibility. But it is on the list, and after a foreclosure it describes a lot of otherwise clean borrowers. Expect the business-purpose side of the file to get real attention.

The other side of it: buying a foreclosure

On the purchase side, the guideline requires that the property was marketed openly and fairly through a multiple listing service, an auction, a documented for-sale-by-owner offering, or developer marketing. That requirement is expressly lifted where the property seller is a bank that received the property as a result of foreclosure or deed-in-lieu.

The other purchase-side rules still apply: no pattern of previous flipping as evidenced by multiple transfers in the last 12 months, and non-arm's length transactions are not permitted, with particular scrutiny on entity-to-entity transfers.

What this page does not do

This is a reading of the waiting periods and documentation rules in our DSCR program guideline, V28. It is not an approval, not a pre-qualification, and not a quote. Nobody has looked at your credit, your dates, or your property.

It does not tell you your completion date. That comes from the record, and on contested or bankruptcy-adjacent foreclosures the record is often the only thing that settles it.

It does not answer whether a deficiency judgment survives in your state, whether your short-sale agreement released you, or what your bankruptcy discharged. Those are legal questions for your attorney.

It does not cover bankruptcy waiting periods chapter by chapter, or the forbearance and modification provisions — both have their own pages, linked above.

It does not price anything. Rate, LTV and DSCR minimums are set by the eligibility grid and by score, property type, occupancy status and loan purpose, and a cleared foreclosure does not carry a published pricing adjustment of its own in this guideline.

And it does not address the downstream mechanics — appraisal, lease documentation, reserves, entity formation, title, insurance or prepayment structure. Clearing the derogatory test gets you to the start of that work, not past it.

Guideline DSCR V28 · Reviewed August 31, 2026

Published September 1, 2026 · Updated September 1, 2026

How to use this guide

This article is educational guidance, not an offer or commitment to lend. Rules, property facts, credit, leverage, documentation, and full underwriting still control any actual scenario.

Check a scenario with a past foreclosure