Global Debt Service Coverage — Global DSC — is the coverage test that decides owner-occupied commercial files. It does not look at the building on its own. It blends the net operating income of the operating business, the subject property, and the guarantor into one number, then divides that by the annual debt obligations of all three: business debt, the proposed loan on the subject property, and personal debt. Only half of the total annual personal debt is counted, a change that took effect July 10, 2026.
Owner-occupied purchases and refinances both require 1.20x Global DSC. Investor files are underwritten on a different test entirely — property-level DSCR at 1.15x — and the guarantor's household debt never enters that calculation.
Almost every article on debt service coverage explains the property-level version: net operating income divided by the mortgage payment. That is the number brokers quote and the number spreadsheets produce. It is also not the number that kills owner-occupied small-balance deals. Global DSC is. A borrower can own a building that covers its own payment two times over and still miss coverage because of an equipment note, a truck payment, and a house.
This page walks through the mechanics, the July 2026 change, what income we include and exclude, and what happens to a file that lands under 1.20x.
Global DSC and property DSCR are two different tests
Which test applies is decided by occupancy, not by preference. A property is owner occupied when the borrower's business occupies and operates from it, when the borrower personally resides in a residential unit of it, or when it is leased to a related entity the borrower majority owns or controls — and the borrower must use 50% or more of the net rentable area. Below that threshold, underwriting may classify the property as an investment property, which moves the file onto the property-level test.
| Owner Occupied | Investor | |
|---|---|---|
| Underwriting method | Global DSC | Property DSCR |
| Coverage requirement | 1.20x purchase and cash-out/rate-term refinance | 1.15x purchase and cash-out/rate-term refinance |
| What's in the numerator | Total Annual Global Net Operating Income | Underwritten Net Operating Income |
| What's in the denominator | Personal, business and subject property debt obligations | Annual Debt Service Coverage Payments |
| Personal debt counted | Yes, at 50% | No |
| Minimum FICO | 650 | 650 |
| Loan size | $100K–$2.5MM | $100K–$2.5MM |
| Occupancy requirement | 75% | 75% |
One consequence worth naming early: a partially owner-occupied property that otherwise meets the investor definition stays classified as an Investor Property. If at least 50% of a property's effective gross income comes from arm's-length third-party tenants — or the property is multifamily, a manufactured housing park, a 1–4 unit residential property, or a PUD, regardless of occupancy — it is an investor file and Global DSC does not apply.
The formula, as written
Read the owner-occupied line slowly, because it is doing three things at once.
First, the numerator is global net operating income — not property NOI. It is the business, the property, and the guarantor combined.
Second, the denominator is not the mortgage payment. It is the sum of three debt stacks: what the guarantor owes personally, what the business owes, and what the subject property will owe once the new loan funds.
Third, the 50%. Half of the total annual personal debt is counted. That single word "50%" is the reason a file that would have failed in June 2026 can clear in September.
What the July 10, 2026 change did
Two entries in the change log matter here, and both carry the asterisk that makes them retroactive.
The first change halves the drag that a guarantor's household puts on a commercial file. The second removes a gate: a bank statement file no longer has to reach 1.00x Global DSC before it can be moved to the No Doc Streamline program.
The retroactive clause is not decoration. If you have a file that was quoted or declined on coverage with an application date before July 10, 2026, the current convention applies to it. That is worth a phone call, not a resubmission from scratch.
Here is what the change looks like on one file — the same file, run under both conventions, against the 1.20x requirement. Values are the coverage ratio times 100.
What goes into the income side
The numerator is where most of the arguing happens, because borrowers and brokers tend to submit every dollar the borrower touches. The guideline is specific about what does not count.
| Included | Excluded |
|---|---|
| Rental income that contributes directly to value | Trailer rentals, including outside storage and RV spaces within MHPs |
| Rental income stable and typical in the marketplace | Billboard income |
| Laundry, storage, and parking income | Cell tower income |
| Operating business cash flow | Any extraordinary or non-recurring source |
| Gains from asset sales, insurance claims, settlements, investment income |
On the business side there is a second rule about which business counts. The primary source of income used to qualify must be generated by the business occupying the subject property. Other recurring and verifiable sources of income may also be considered — but a second unrelated venture is not the anchor of the file, and a guarantor cannot lead with a different company's cash flow because the occupying business had a soft year.
Where income is documented with bank statements rather than tax returns, a separate set of rules narrows the numerator further. We use twelve consecutive months of business bank statements, from the business operating account only, and the deposits are averaged to determine monthly income. Personal accounts and personal digital wallet statements are not acceptable. Combining accounts is not permitted; the maximum is up to two different accounts for the operating business. Transfers from a personal account, gift funds, interest paid, payroll advances or working capital, seller concessions, and SBA or COVID assistance loan proceeds are all removed from the deposit total. Rental income is excluded from the monthly business deposits — that money belongs on the property line, not the business line, and counting it twice is one of the most common ways a submitted global cash flow overstates itself.
Deposits routed through payment platforms are treated on their own terms. Deposits originating from Cash App Business, Venmo Business, or similar payment-processing platforms may be considered business revenue when supported by account statements and documentation sufficient to verify the deposits are derived from the borrower's business operations. Personal transfers, gifts, loans, and unsupported deposits are not eligible for income qualification. If a meaningful share of the borrower's revenue arrives that way, read our page on [Venmo and Cash App deposits](/blog/can-venmo-and-cash-app-deposits-qualify-a-commercial-loan) before you assemble the file.
Where the debt numbers come from
The debt side is assembled from documents, not from a credit report alone.
For owner-occupied loans we require a completed Debt Schedule on our form. That form is where business obligations get captured — equipment notes, lines of credit, existing term debt, seller notes. It is required for owner-occupied loans only, which tells you plainly that the debt side of Global DSC is an owner-occupied exercise.
The personal stack comes from the tri-merged credit reports pulled on all guarantors, principals, or controlling parties with a 25% or greater ownership interest, supported by two years of federal personal tax returns or IRS transcripts with all complete schedules for individual guarantors. Where applicable, documentation showing alimony payments and a divorce decree are also required file documents.
The personal tax return requirement does not apply to the Bank Statement Program, Investor Lite Doc, or No Doc Streamline. That is a document requirement, not a coverage waiver — an owner-occupied bank statement file is still underwritten on Global DSC at 1.20x.
A worked file: how the numbers assemble
The following is an illustration built to show the mechanics. It is not a quote, not a set of terms, and not drawn from a real borrower.
An HVAC contractor is buying the 9,200-square-foot light-industrial building his company has leased for six years. His business will occupy 70% of the net rentable area — over the 50% threshold, so the file is owner occupied and runs on Global DSC. A single third-party tenant occupies the remaining 30%. There is a billboard on the roof under a separate lease. Income is documented under the bank statement program.
Step one — build the global income.
| Income source | Submitted | Counted | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating business cash flow (12-month deposit average, after operating expenses) | $154,000 | $154,000 | Business occupying the subject property |
| Third-party tenant rent, net of property expenses | $24,000 | $24,000 | Rental income contributing directly to value |
| Billboard lease | $4,800 | $0 | Billboard income is excluded |
| Prior-year insurance claim settlement | $22,000 | $0 | Non-recurring; already removed from the deposit average |
| Total Annual Global Net Operating Income | $204,800 | $178,000 |
Step two — build the global debt.
| Obligation | Annual | Counted | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Proposed subject property loan, principal and interest | $76,800 | $76,800 | Full |
| Equipment note | $18,400 | $18,400 | Full |
| Business line of credit | $9,600 | $9,600 | Full |
| Existing business term loan | $14,200 | $14,200 | Full |
| Primary residence mortgage | $38,400 | ||
| Two auto loans | $13,200 | ||
| Revolving minimum payments | $6,000 | ||
| Student loan | $4,800 | ||
| Personal subtotal | $62,400 | $31,200 | 50% |
| Global Annual Debt Service | $150,200 |
Step three — divide.
$178,000 ÷ $150,200 = 1.19x. The file misses 1.20x.
Three things in that walkthrough are worth stopping on.
The billboard mattered. Had the $4,800 been counted, the ratio would have read 1.22x and the file would have looked approved on a number the guideline does not allow. A submitted global cash flow that includes excluded income is the most common reason a deal that "penciled" at the broker's desk comes back short at underwriting.
The personal stack mattered more than its size suggested. $62,400 of household payments dragged the file by $31,200 — real, but half of what it would have been before July 10, 2026. Under the old convention the same file computes to $178,000 ÷ $181,400, or 0.98x. Not close.
And the 50% cuts both ways when you go looking for a fix. Paying off one of the auto loans — $4,600 a year of payments — removes only $2,300 from the counted denominator. New Global Annual Debt Service: $147,900. New ratio: $178,000 ÷ $147,900 = 1.20x. It clears, but the borrower had to retire twice the payment relief the ratio credits him for. Anyone advising a borrower to "pay down some personal debt to get over the line" needs to size the paydown at double the apparent gap.
When the file still misses 1.20x
There are two honest paths, and they are not equivalent.
The first is to change the file: reduce the loan amount so the subject property's annual debt service falls, lengthen amortization if the program allows it, retire business debt, or document income that was left out. This keeps the loan on its original program and its original terms.
The second is conversion.
Conversion is not a waiver of the 1.20x requirement. It moves the file onto a different program with a different underwriting method and a different, tighter parameter set — and every one of those parameters has to be met.
| Owner Occupied complete / bank statement | No Doc Streamline | |
|---|---|---|
| Underwriting method | Global DSC | Property DSCR |
| Coverage | 1.20x | 1.00 based on rents utilized by the appraiser to derive the property value |
| Minimum FICO | 650 | 700 |
| Optic Score | — | 600 |
| Max LTV | 80% for loans with ≥725 FICO (purchase); 75% (cash/refi) | 75% purchase; 70% rate-term refinance and cash out |
| Loan size | $100K–$2.5MM | $100K–$2.5MM |
| Occupancy | 75% | 75% |
| Rent analysis | Actual, per program documentation | Market rents used for qualification purposes in all cases |
| Economic occupancy | Permitted if all conditions are met | Not permitted |
The trade is clear once it is laid out. The borrower stops being measured on his household and his business and starts being measured on the building alone — but he needs a 700 FICO instead of 650, a passing Optic Score, and he gives up leverage. On a cash-out refinance that is a move from 75% to 70% LTV, which on a $1,000,000 valuation is $50,000 less in proceeds.
Two details catch files during conversion. Economic occupancy is not permitted for No Doc Streamline, and it is also not permitted for transactions that are converted to a No Doc Streamline program during the underwriting process — so a lease that was being counted on the strength of a tenant's improvement obligation stops counting the moment the file converts. And market rents are used for qualification purposes in all cases under No Doc Streamline, which can help a below-market owner-occupied file and hurt one with an above-market related-party lease.
The removed prerequisite is worth repeating: as of 07/10/2026, a bank statement file no longer has to reach 1.00x Global DSC in order to switch to the No Doc program. The conversion path is open on coverage; it is gated on the No Doc Streamline parameters instead.
If you are trying to understand where coverage thresholds sit generally rather than how Global DSC is built, we cover that separately in [the lowest DSCR a lender will actually accept](/blog/what-is-the-lowest-dscr-a-lender-will-actually-accept).
What the guideline does not specify
Being straight about the gaps is more useful than filling them with plausible numbers.
The guideline defines Global Annual Debt Service as personal, business, and subject property debt obligations. It does not publish an itemized list of which personal obligations are included — no stated treatment of deferred student loans, co-signed debt the guarantor does not pay, contingent liabilities, or a mortgage on a rental property the guarantor owns separately. Alimony documentation is a required file document where applicable, which tells you it is looked at, but the guideline does not spell out how it is weighted.
There is no published add-back schedule. Depreciation, amortization, owner compensation, and one-time expenses are not addressed as add-backs in the cash flow analysis section. The exclusions are specified; the add-backs are not.
There is no stated method for allocating income and debt across multiple guarantors by ownership percentage, and no stated treatment of a non-borrowing spouse's income or obligations.
The guideline does not state a qualifying rate convention for computing the subject property's annual debt service — whether it is the note rate, a stressed rate, or the fully indexed rate. It also does not state whether escrowed taxes and insurance are included in the debt obligation figure.
Where the guideline is silent, we will tell you it is silent and give you the underwriter's answer on your specific file. We will not manufacture a rule.
What this page does not do
This page explains how Global Debt Service Coverage is calculated on owner-occupied small-balance commercial files under our SBC program guidelines effective 8/3/2026. It does not do the following.
It does not quote you. Nothing here is a rate, a term, a proceeds figure, or an offer. The worked file is an illustration built to show mechanics, and every dollar figure in it was chosen to make the arithmetic legible.
It does not underwrite your file. Global DSC is one input among many — credit profile and experience, property cash flow, seasoning, occupancy, quality, location, market rents, LTV, and third-party reports all sit alongside it in the credit decision. Clearing 1.20x does not approve a loan and missing it does not decline one.
It does not tell you the minimum coverage we will accept. 1.20x is the owner-occupied program requirement, not a floor discovered by negotiation.
It does not cover investor files beyond the comparison above. If your property is majority tenant-occupied, multifamily, an MHP, a 1–4 unit residential property, or a PUD, you are on property DSCR and this page is background reading.
It does not substitute for the guideline. Program parameters change; two of the rules on this page changed on July 10, 2026 and were applied retroactively. Confirm anything you are about to act on.
If you want the number itself, the fastest path is a completed Debt Schedule, twelve months of business operating account statements or two years of returns, and a rent roll if there is a third-party tenant. That is enough to compute Global DSC before anyone orders an appraisal.
Guideline SBC 08/03/2026 · Reviewed August 30, 2026
Published August 31, 2026 · Updated August 31, 2026
How to use this guide
This article is educational guidance, not an offer or commitment to lend. Rules, property facts, credit, leverage, documentation, and full underwriting still control any actual scenario.
